Bhutan has a wide range of climates, from the hot and humid jungles of the southern foothills to frigid snowcapped peaks in the north, which rise to 7,700 metres.

Broadly speaking, we can divide the climate of Bhutan into four seasons: Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter.

Spring begins by the end of February and lasts till the end of May. Summer starts by the end of May and lasts till the end of August. There is one more season that may be identified in between somewhere here. The rainy season starts by June and lasts till the middle or end of September. The rainy season more or less coincides with the summer season. The rainy season is vital for farmers to grow their crops like maize and rice, but it causes roadblocks due to landslides. Sometimes, you may be stranded on the highway for hours or for a few days due to roadblocks.

Autumn starts by October and lasts till the end of November. Winter lasts from December to February. In most places in Bhutan, it snows in winter except in Southern Bhutan. Even in the south, it is quite chilly in the morning and evening in winter.

Summer is quite hot everywhere. But in the south, it gets almost terribly hot. Spring is a good season. Rainy season is not much loved by the city dwellers.

Leave a Reply